Today:
210.1 pounds
28.6% body fat

Yesterday:
1,608 calories against a budget of 1,751
4,138 steps

I totally understand the aversion that some people have to counting calories and tracking activity and fussing about with their diets when so many other aspects of our lives are more demanding. For me, micro-managing the details keeps me focused on the task at hand and it works for me–but I certainly don’t think less of anyone who chooses not to weigh and measure and log everything that enters their mouth.

I believe anyone can be successful with weight loss without all the fuss, but calories out have to be more than calories in. It’s that simple. Food choice is key.

I suggest that no one ever got fat by eating too many vegetables, so start incorporating more of those in your diet. And don’t slather them in butter or dressings. Steamed vegetables tossed with just a teaspoon of avocado oil are decadent. Carrot and celery sticks and slices of red bell pepper are fantastic in homemade hummus (I’ll post the recipe some day soon–easy to make and good for you).  A nightly salad of baby greens and spinach with a couple of teaspoons of low-fat vinaigrette is very filling and provides roughage.  Eat as many vegetables as you’d like and don’t worry about keeping track.

Fruits require a bit more thought as some (e.g. bananas and dates) are high in sugar so they’re closer to candy than they are vegetables. But low glycemic choices like red grapes and citrus aren’t bad for you and are great for satisfying a sweet tooth. You can’t go wrong with berries of any sort–blackberries and blueberries especially liven up Greek yogurt (my breakfast mainstay) and provide fiber and anti-oxidants. Loading up on fruits, while not as filling or healthy as vegetables, is another smart choices that would let you forego keeping count.

For anything else, smart choices and portion control is the key to success. Steer clear of refined anything and choose brown rice and whole grain pastas and breads.  Not because whole grains or brown rice have less calories but because they have more fiber which helps counteract the sugar spike of refined white flours. You may have heard the phrase “no white at night,” I suggest replacing that with “no white ever.”  You may find that you actually prefer whole wheat pastas due to their nuttier flavor. Ditto brown rice. And experiment with farro, quinoa, and bulghur.  You’ll be eating things that actually taste like something.Because of the higher calories in grains and pastas keep your potions on the smaller side. Start with a half cup of farro cooked in chicken broth and see how that satisfies. You can always have more.

Keep your dairy choices lean. I use 1% milk in my lattes and eat non-fat Greek yogurt and fat free cottage cheese. Full fat versions may keep you fuller longer, but the calories add up. Stick to low- and non fat versions and snack on veggies if hunger strikes.

Meats, particularly red meats, are where one needs to be especially careful and re-think “serving size.”  I limit myself to 3 ounces of red meat, which doesn’t look like much. Savor the taste but fill up on veggies. You can be more generous with lean chicken, and even more so with fish. If you want a big meat serving fish is the way to go.  Stick to grilled preparations or lightly seared in avocado oil.  Poach fish in broth. Avoid sauces and you should be fine.

I treat desserts much like I do alcohol–I’m just not partaking right now. Doesn’t mean I’ve quit for ever, it’s just that now isn’t the  time. I have a weakness for donuts and as I pass the pastry case at my local market I always tell myself the same thing:  maybe in May I’ll have a donut. And I keep on moving. If, after a dinner of lean meat, steamed or roasted veggies, and a large salad I still feel hungry then sometimes I’ll snack on popcorn. We pop our own, in a 50/50 mix of coconut and avocado oil. Tossed with a little butter and salt, a cup only has 52 calories so a couple cups while watching television is a filling alternative to sugary desserts.

You don’t have to count and tally and track  your days away.  Switching to vegetable-centric meals, choosing lean proteins, limiting sugars and avoiding processed foods are a great way to start becoming the weight you want to be. Increasing your activity during the day helps both with calories and a sense of well-being.  Whatever you decide to do, just do it. Start.  As you have success you’ll gain strength and courage to keep up the fight. And in time you’ll be the person you want to be.  Whether you count or not.

Caleb